PLEASE NOTE: GERRY STRIBLING NOW OFFERS MENTORING, EDITING, AND CRITIQUE SERVICES FOR WRITERS

serenity timidity meme

SHARING THE BUDDHA’S WISDOM SO PEOPLE CAN UNDERSTAND IT

A small wooden bench, only twelve inches tall and wide, and maybe eighteen inches long. Rough. Something you might find in a third world preschool. There is no comfortable place to sit in a Buddhist monastery. I could barely manage to keep my fat American ass perched on the torturous little seat for many long hours over the six months I studied literally at the feet of the monks in the fragrant jungles of Sri Lanka.

Risking butt splinters for half a year, little did I realize that my volunteer teaching job in the jungle would result in understanding the secret of happiness. Now everything I learned is in a book you can read in a few hours, and you can sit wherever you want.

It’s called Buddhism for Dudes: A Jarhead’s Field Guide to Mindfulness, published by Wisdom Publications, Inc., and distributed by Simon and Schuster. It’s available in bookstores and through Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble, and many others, as a fit-in-your-back-pocket paperback, and as an e-book. Right now Amazon has it on sale for twenty percent off.

ohheyjudestrib crop

I’m not just selling a book about Buddhism, I’m saying that with a little knowledge and a little effort, you can be happy, as happy as me. Oh, sure, I get a case of the red-ass every now and then, but I am a genuinely contented dude. Abiding happiness is living, and then dying, with a sense of purpose, love in your heart, and a smile on your face. That’s my plan.

BTW, women love Buddhism for Dudes. It couldn’t be doing better with women readers if I’d titled it Girls Have Kooties.

One thought on “

  1. Hey Gerry,

    Just wanted to to say thank you for your book. I just finished reading Buddhism for Dudes. It was a great introduction to buddhism, im looking forward to learning more and beginning to practice the philosophy.

    Have a wonderful day

    – Josh Z

    Like

Leave a Reply

